Salix OS / VirtualBox

SalixI’m honestly not sure what site I was looking at when I saw a description of Salix RatPoison. Salix is a Slackware derivative I’d never heard of until a day or so ago. Based on 13.37, it comes in five flavours:  Xfce, LXDE, Fluxbox, KDE and Ratpoison. I’ve played around with the first four of these desktops at various times in the last year, but Ratpoison I’d never heard of.

I’ve been playing a little bit with VirtualBox, and in the time allotted last night, did not manage to install Salix, but I’m intrigued by the Ratpoison window manager’s premise. The idea is that all window management is handled via keyboard, with no mouse interaction required. The commands seem derived from Vim and one is warned that this is *not* a newbie-friendly distro.

My next step is to learn how to create a VirtualBox .vdi file so I can test it out. It seems one should be able to just use the .iso, but I’m failing there. VirtualBoxImages.com has a great selection of free/cheap VDIs, though a touch out of date.

Wait a sec. A little searching on that page and I find 13.0.2 Salix VDI is available here. Logging in and commenting might get me a 13.37 if I’m very nice.

Leave a comment

Filed under Distros, Making the leap

Leave a Reply

